Listen to Muncie Girls’ killer new single

Credit: Martyna Wisniewska

Locked Up is taken off the band’s upcoming album Fixed Ideals. 

Exeter’s Muncie Girls are releasing their second album Fixed Ideals at the end of this month and they’ve just shared their latest single. Locked Up clocks in at under two minutes in length but addresses a plethora of modern day scourges. Vocalist and guitarist Lande Hekt found herself railing against these aspects of life “that we’re expected to not only accept, but celebrate. It’s kind of depressing really,” she admits, whilst also explaining that it relates to the prison system and claustrophobia.

Fixed Ideals will be released on 31 August via Specialist Subject Records and was produced by Muncie Girls’ longterm collaborator Lewis Johns at The Ranch and mastered by Emily Lazar at The Lodge.

Muncie Girls will follow up the album’s release by hitting the road for an eight-date tour of the UK in September with support from their friends in The Hard Aches. They’ve also just announced a headline tour of the US in November, which will be their first touring experience on the continent, having played several shows at SXSW in 2017.

Fixed Ideals UK headline tour:
(with support from The Hard Aches)
26 September – The Deaf Institute, Manchester
27 September – The Cuban Embassy, Birmingham
28 September – Rock City Basement, Nottingham
29 September – The Think Tank – Underground, Newcastle
30 September – The Garage – Attic, Glasgow
1 October – Borderline, London
2 October – The Waterfront, Norwich
3 October – The Joiners, Southampton