The Strumbellas release new single ‘I’ll Wait’

Taken off their recently released record Rattlesnake. 

The Strumbellas released their brilliant fourth album Rattlesnake via Glassnote Records on 29 March. Produced by Tim Pagnotta (Elle King, Walk the Moon) and co-produced and engineered by Brian Phillips, the album was recorded on the band’s home turf, at the legendary Bathouse Recording Studio outside of Kingston, ON and at Revolution Recording in Toronto, ON.

“This album is about one main character: this guy, me, who’s out there following his dream to have his music heard, but at the same time, he’s just trying to get home”, says lead singer Simon Ward. “The reason it’s called Rattlesnake is because it’s about him facing his fears head on. Shedding his skin, evolving, and realizing he’s got these three kids that he’s responsible for. Little humans, they’re more important than anything. They have a way of really anchoring you.”

To celebrate the release of the album, the band have shared the video for their anthemic new single I’ll Wait. The video, directed by Christopher Warre Smets and produced by Black Fawn Creative, was shot in Hamilton, Ontario with the band performing in the exciting, vulnerable way fans have come to expect.

For The Strumbellas, though, accolades are secondary to the connection that their music has with their fans. “I think it’s important that people feel something when they listen to music”, says Ward. “That’s my favourite thing: When I put my headphones on and it triggers something in me. It’s my hope that this music makes people feel something they may not have otherwise felt that day.”

“We’ve heard from people previously that our songs have helped people through difficult times, times when they felt alone, times when they felt not quite right for the world,” says keyboardist Dave Ritter. “I hope this record continues to do that, nestles into the nooks and crannies of someone’s life exactly the way they need it to.”

The Strumbellas are Simon Ward (vocals, acoustic guitar), David Ritter (keys), Jeremy Drury (percussion), Isabel Ritchie (strings), Jon Hembrey (guitar) and Darryl James (bass).

In 2017, they won the iHeartRadio Music award for Best New Alternative Rock Artist of the Year, and collected the JUNO Award for Single of the Year ahead of Drake, The Weeknd and Shawn Mendes. From the onset the band received critical praise from the press: “With this amazing track [Salvation], the band gets us hooked and inspired to look out into the world and see all the beauty that dwells in it,” wrote Wolf in a Suit and “The Strumbellas aren’t just taking on the US, they are taking on the world,” declared Forbes.