Cold War Kids share details of ‘New Age Norms 1’

First Volume of three-album Trilogy Heralded by New Single ‘Waiting For Your Love’.

Cold War Kids have announced the release of their eagerly anticipated new album. New Age Norms 1 arrives Friday 1 November via CWKTWO/AWAL. Produced by Lars Stalfors (St. Vincent, HEALTH, Foster the People), the record marks the first volume of a three-album trilogy from Cold War Kids. New Age Norms 1 – which features cover art by the Los Angeles-based band’s bassist, acclaimed artist Matt Maust – is heralded by today’s premiere of the new single, Waiting For Your Love, available now at all DSPs and streaming services.

“Last summer we were on tour when Kanye was putting out his new records,” says Cold War Kids’ Nathan Willett. “Pusha T, Kids See Ghosts, Nas, etc. They were eight songs each. It was so fun waking up to these brand new records and taking them in as a whole while hanging out, working out, talking shit, pushing each other. I knew then I wanted our next release to be three volumes – eight songs each. Without the baggage and hoopla of a full record/tour/concept – more spread out – loose and inspired. Make it feel like you are listening to music that was made the night before. NEW AGE NORMS is a phrase Maust had written on a tee shirt. It seemed to summarize this moment we are in as a band and as a country. More on that later…”

New Age Norms 1 was preceded earlier this summer by the first new music from Cold War Kids in more than two years, Complainer and 4th of July, both available now at all DSPs and streaming services. In addition, Complainer – co-written with multi-platinum songwriter Bonnie McKee (Katy Perry, Rita Ora) and Electric Guest’s Asa Taccone – was recently joined by a powerful acoustic version, Complainer (Strings & Keys).

New Age Norms 1 – Track Listing
1. Complainer
2. Fine Fine Fine
3. Waiting For Your Love
4. Beyond The Pale
5. Dirt In My Eyes
6. 4th of July
7. Calm Your Nerves
8. Tricky Devil