Listen to Brooklyn punks Hot Knife’s new track

Top 10 Habits Of Highly Successful People is taken off their EP Dread, set for release on 20 April.

“Top 10 Habits Of Highly Successful Peopleis an angry pop song; both pissy and catchy,” explains the band’s vocalist/guitarist, Luke Taylor. “It can be overwhelming to participate in the brutal, endless pursuit that is our economy and to be aware of the nonsense and lies that are driving it. It’s infuriating to see those messages echoed every day.”

Top 10 Habits Of Highly Successful People will be featured on the band’s upcoming EP, Dread, due out on 20 April via Black Numbers. The five-song collection was produced by Jesse Cannon (The Mezingers, Misfits, Saves The Day, Dillinger Escape Plan) and engineered by Brian DiMeglio at Found Soundation Studios in Fort Greene, Brooklyn. It was then mixed and mastered by Jason Livermore (Bouncing Souls, Descendents, Teenage Bottlerocket) at The Blasting Room in Fort Collins, CO. “We called the record Dread because it’s largely a record about anxiety,” Taylor says. “Macro-level anxieties about what is happening in the world, but then also personal anxieties—what is my role in that context? How did I get here? How do I cope with this?”

Hot Knife are pieced together of members of other notable bands who all ended up in the right place at the right time. Their story begins when guitarist Ryan Weber (formerly of Spanish Gamble) moved to New York from Florida after an offer from Hot Knife’s future drummer Matt Ferraro (formerly of Candy Hearts) in 2015. “He knew I was looking to move and offered me a room out of the blue,” Weber says. “I moved two weeks later. I knew I definitely wanted to start another band, but I didn’t know many people.” One night at a show, Weber ran into Vic Castello, whom he had known as the bass player from Static Radio NJ. “Vic said, ‘Hey, we should start a band’ since we were both orphaned from our former bands. I told him I knew a drummer, Matt, and he said he thought he knew someone who could sing, which was Luke [Taylor]. From there, the band wrote My Old Friend and released their debut EP My Fangs via Black Numbers in 2017.

Dread – Track Listing
1. Rude
2. Space Weapons
4. Rippin Buds, Rippin Buds
5. First Street