Funeral Shakes release debut single

Over You is out now and taken off the band’s self-titled debut record, set for release on 16 February 2018 via Silent Cult Records.

Funeral Shakes was recorded and produced by Steve Sears (The Hell, Krokodil, Palm Reader) at Titan Studios, Watford. The album combines frenetic punk rock energy with power pop sensibilities, lathered in disdain, with giant hooks, and lung-bursting choruses.

Formed from the ashes of The Smoking Hearts, including founding members Calvin Roffey (bass/vocals) and Simon Barker (guitar) with the addition of Nervus guitarist/vocalist Em Foster.

“When would you ever want to hear a song about people who’ve lived happily ever after? Never! You want to listen to the negative stuff, all wrapped up in a happy tune.” Funeral Shakes’ guitarist Simon Barker is the first to admit that his new band’s self-titled debut album is not for those who bask in the glory of love, but more an ode to the jilted, heartbroken and beaten, who have the sheer will to pick themselves up and carry on.  All the best songs are about heartbreak, and these bitter pills are sugar-coated in the best possible way.