Tiny Moving Parts sign to Hopeless Records and release new single

Listen to Medicine off of the band’s forthcoming record breathe now. 

Hopeless Records is excited to announce the signing of Tiny Moving Parts. Today, they’ve shared Medicine the first single from the band’s forthcoming album breathe, out 13 September 2019.

Speaking of the track, Dylan Mattheisen said, “Medicine is about everything around you falling apart. When people come and go in a lifetime, I try to focus on the happiness and guidance they’ve provided me instead of the sadness of them leaving”

Mattheisen is afraid of death. That’s nothing new. In fact, it’s a fear that has flowed, in one form or another, through every album the Benson, Minnesota band has released so far. But on breathe, the band’s fifth proper full-length, it’s become more obvious and prevalent than ever. At the same time, this set of songs is designed to help quell those anxieties, both for Mattheisen and the dedicated following he and his cousins – brothers Matt and Billy Chevalier – have built up since forming the band in 2008.

“I just feel as time goes on that everything means more and more,” says Mattheisen. “So this record covers things we’ve talked about in the past – the fear of dying, losing someone through moving away or the passing of someone – but it concentrates more on the positives, and being happy things happened instead of sad they’re taken away. It’s about finding that mindset to keep on powering through.”

Written in between tours since the release of their last record, Swell, released in January 2018, breathe finds the band moving forward sonically as much as they are pushing through emotionally. Recorded with longtime collaborator Greg Lindholm, who oversaw seven songs, and established pop producer John Fields (Jimmy Eat World, Goo Goo Dolls, All Time Low), who handled the other three, breathe is full of the same emotionally-driven blend of math-rock, pop-punk and emo that they’ve made their own, but it also branches out.

breathe is more than just an album. It’s an emotional crutch. It’s moral support. It’s the friend we all need at our darkest times. It’s the sound of a band coming to terms with their own mortality, their own anxieties, their own self-doubts. And it’s a reminder that, as long as there are songs sung back as if our lives depend on them, we are never alone.

breathe Tracklisting:
The Midwest Sky
Light Bulb
Icicles (Morning Glow)
Polar Bear
Bloody Nose
Soft Spot
I Can’t Shake

Catch Tiny Moving Parts on tour this autumn:
21 September – 1865, Southampton
22 September – The Globe, Cardiff
24 September – Grand Social, Dublin
25 September – Academy 3, Manchester
26 September – Slay, Glasgow
27 September – Institute 2, Birmingham
28 September – O2 Islington Academy, London